How can I ensure that my information on MyRider is secure?

MyRider Portal will time out after 60 minutes of inactivity and log you out of MyRider Portal. There is an additional security measure you can take to protect your information-we advise you to always lock-up your computer whenever stepping away for it.

Instructions for Locking Your Computer

For PC users:

1. Press CTRL+ALT+L. This will lock your computer. You will need to re-enter your password to log back in.

For Mac users:

1.     Open [System Preferences] from the Apple menu or Dock.

2.     Click on [Desktop & Screen Saver] in the top row.

3.     Click on the [Screen Saver] tab.

4.     Click the [Hot Corners…] button. The Active Screen Corners window appears.

5.     Click on the drop-down menu button for the corner you want to use, eg the top left corner. Select Start Screen Saver from the menu.

6.     Click the [OK] button.

7.     Click [Show All] button on top of window.

8.     Click on [Security] in the top row.

9.     Click on the [General] tab.

10. Check the box beside [Require password after sleep or screensaver begins].

11. Choose a time period from the drop-down menu. We suggest between 5 seconds and 1 minute.

12. Now after the screensaver starts you will have to enter a password to log back into the machine.

13. Once this setting has been set you can lock your Mac at any time by pressing Shift-Control-Eject.

Details

Article ID: 91766
Created
Mon 11/11/19 8:56 AM
Modified
Mon 12/21/20 11:07 AM